Autograph Magazine Live!

The Authentic Experience

Question about EXPENSIVE PURCHASED I MADE...Traveling Wilbury's, Led Zeppelin

Okay folks...aside from being one of many taken by Bryan Slaven and Autograph Central years ago, I purchased about 5 albums from a guy from L.A. His name was David Dettman, and he had a company called GENUINE AUTOGRAPH.com

Of course, that's nowhere to be found now. He also worked at a place called Paper Image in Canoga Park, CA. Also nowhere to be found.

I remember when I purchased the albums from him...around $900 each...he was sweating a lot, and super nervous. I should've taken the hint...that that was not a good sign. But you know how it is. You hold a Wilbury's album...signed by the late Roy Orbison and George Harrison...as well as Tom Petty, Jeff Lynne and Bob Dylan (with his trademark BEST WISHES)...you have no doubt they are real.

Now, here's the interesting thing. These albums all came with the nicest letter of authenticity I've ever seen, from a guy named DONALD FRANGIPANI. It's stamped nicely, with a seal thingy, complete description and date he examined the item -- and he still has a website up and looks like he's a big deal.

Can anybody shed light on either of these two guys (Frangipani or David Dettman).

Thanks.

I'll attach pictures in the next few days.

Views: 258

Comment

You need to be a member of Autograph Magazine Live! to add comments!

Join Autograph Magazine Live!

Comment by Brad on February 18, 2012 at 9:52pm

Another scamer bites the dust lol!!

Comment by Steve Cyrkin on February 18, 2012 at 9:50pm

I want to make it clear that genuineautographs.com (which appears to not be an active website anymore) is or was in Los Angeles and is not the same company as genuine-autographs.com, which is in the UK and owned by Greig MacArthur.

Comment by Steve Cyrkin on February 18, 2012 at 9:48pm

Rachel Bloom closed her account and deleted her comments supporting David Dettman and Genuineautographs.com. I wonder why?

Comment by BallroomDays67 on February 18, 2012 at 9:24pm

Thanks for posting it so quickly. I appreciate it but, unless someone else wants to see it, you don't have to bother with the original file. It doesn't look authentic to me either. 

Comment by Steve Cyrkin on February 18, 2012 at 9:04pm

Ballroom,

It's hard to tell from a scan of the magazine, but here it is. We have the original file, but it's in the warehouse on an old computer. I can get it if necessary, but be patient.

Here's the scan at 600 dpi:

Comment by Steve Cyrkin on February 18, 2012 at 8:48pm

It's a Doors photo, sorry. But I'll scan the ad in and post it.

Comment by BallroomDays67 on February 18, 2012 at 8:39pm

When you get a chance, would you mind posting a pic of the Doors album?

I'm sorry to read this, Josh.

Comment by Steve Cyrkin on February 18, 2012 at 7:34pm

Rachel, I'm sorry. I meant to say Genuine Autographs, not Guaranteed Autographs. David Dettman owns Paper Image, a printing company, right?

Genuine Autographs advertised when I was just starting to realize how big a problem forgeries were among dealers, including some who advertised. But I just checked and it turns out the reason we kicked them out of Autograph Collector was because he didn't pay his bills and owed us for months of advertising...thousands of dollars. About a year later as I recall, a reader came to us asking for help because Dettman sold him forgeries. We tried to help, but never could connect with David.

I just looked at an ad Guaranteed Autographs ran on page 69 of our March 2005 issue, and unfortunately it's loaded with forgeries. Yes, even the band-signed Doors album, Jim Morrison and all.

Comment by mike aring on December 13, 2011 at 11:31am

just show us the items... i'm sure that'll help you out!

 

Comment by Steve Cyrkin on December 12, 2011 at 11:29pm

Guaranteed Autograph (David Dettman) is a huge concern. We haven't let him advertise in Autograph Collector since about 2005 (would have to look up the exact year. 

As for Don Frangipani, he's the favorite authenticator of Myron Ross/Heroes and Legends, and used by Antiquities and others of concern. No one has been on eBay's banned authenticator list as far as I know. Since the Operation Bullpen days.

 

Forum

is this autograph real

Started by alastair mulholland in Is This Autograph Real? 16 hours ago. 0 Replies

This authentication company

Started by Eddie Anderson in Town Square. Last reply by Brick Hunter 3 hours ago. 2 Replies

Are these kiss autographs real?

Started by alastair mulholland in Town Square. Last reply by JXE 9 hours ago. 7 Replies

Paul McCartney - Let It Be -Rooftop Photo

Started by Susan Thames in Town Square. Last reply by terrier8HOF 23 hours ago. 1 Reply

Elvis autograph on a banknote?

Started by ParisBlues in Is This Autograph Real?. Last reply by ParisBlues 1 hour ago. 7 Replies

erase inscription????

Started by Joey Farino in Town Square. Last reply by Richard Viola yesterday. 3 Replies

Is this the real Nirvana??

Started by J.Seah in Is This Autograph Real?. Last reply by alastair mulholland 14 hours ago. 30 Replies

Sex Pistols / Clash

Started by Martin in Is This Autograph Real?. Last reply by Bjarne Soderholm yesterday. 2 Replies

Need opinion on John Wayne signed Letters

Started by Lynne Krewson in Is This Autograph Real?. Last reply by John Strickland yesterday. 8 Replies

Badge

Loading…

© 2012   Created by Steve Cyrkin.

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service